Bangladesh hopes to win the pivotal Test against Sri Lanka.

Bangladesh hopes to win the pivotal Test against Sri Lanka.

DHAKA: With their four frontline bowlers all out injured, Bangladesh hopes that team spirit will carry them to victory in the series-deciding second Test against Sri Lanka, which begins on Monday.

On all five days of the drawn first Test in Chittagong, bowlers from both teams failed to make an impression.

The wicket at Dhaka’s Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, though, is likely to help, as no Test match has been drawn there since 2016.

Bangladesh, who had the upper hand in the first Test, will have to do so with their bowling stocks severely reduced if they are to win.

Nayeem Hasan, who took 6-105 in the first innings of the first Test, was the latest player to be ruled out on Friday due to a finger injury.

Taskin Ahmed, Mehidy Hasan, and Shoriful Islam are all absent from the hosts.

Bangladesh have decided not to replace pacer Shoriful, who had a hand injury in Chittagong, and have yet to identify a replacement for Nayeem.

It would have to be a joint effort, according to Skipper Mominul Haque.

“Whether we’re batsmen or bowlers, we have better outcomes when we work together.” When we all work together, we put the team in a favourable position. It will be beneficial to us in Dhaka,” Mominul stated.

Mominul emphasised the hosts’ vast expertise in the capital with the wicket.

“Dhaka is where we play the majority of our matches.” “I believe we have a good grasp on spin and tempo,” he remarked.

Sri Lanka sounded similarly cheerful. They’ve won all three Test matches they’ve played at Sher-e-Bangla Stadium, including a 215-run win in 2018.

“Our pacers outperformed theirs” (in the first Test). In that regard, we have a few positives,” all-rounder Dhananjaya de Silva said.

De Silva stated the Dhaka wicket “would be favourable to the spinners” while laying out a winning recipe for the second Test.

“If we bat first, we’ll attempt to reach 275-300 and then get them out in one innings for less than 150,” he stated.

“It will give us a fighting chance.”

Seven of Sri Lanka’s nine wickets came from pace bowlers in the opening Test, with right-arm fast Kasun Rajitha (4-60) leading the way as a concussion replacement for Vishwa Fernando.

Mominul Haque (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Das, Yasir Ali, Mosaddek Hossain, Taijul Islam, Ebadot Hossain, Khaled Ahmed, Quazi Nurul Hasan, Rejaur Rahman, Shohidul Islam,

Dimuth Karunaratne (Captain), Kamil Mishara, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Dinesh Chandimal, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Suminda Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando,

Web Desk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.